Five Capital Cities of Liao
September 6, 2018 - December 23, 2018 Time: 9:00—17:00 (closed on Mondays) Venue: Room B, Floor 1
——Exhibition Overview——

Part I. Five Capital Cities

The Liao dynasty divided its realm into five circuits, each with a capital city: the Shangjing (Supreme Capital) of Linhuang, the Zhongjing (Central Capital) of Dading, the Dongjing (Eastern Capital) of Liaoyang, the Nanjing (Southern Capital) of Xijin and the Xijing (Western Capital) of Datong. The History of Liao points out that "Shangjing was the Supreme Capital ruled by the imperial court, with officers of all ranks. The officers of the other four capitals varied depending on the region and time period. Generally, frontier defense was the focus of the officers in Xijing, while officers in Nanjing and Zhongjing were mainly in charge of finances and taxes." The record may not be precise but it reflects the diverse focuses and functions of the five capitals. 

<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  >  

——Exhibition Objects——
liao 5
liao 1
liao 27
liao 25
liao 4
liao 24
liao 26
liao 22
liao 3
liao 18
liao 9
liao 23
liao 12
liao 21
liao 20
liao 19
liao 17
liao 16
liao 15
liao 14
liao 13
liao 11
liao 10
liao 8
liao 7
liao 6
See More
——Exhibition Galleries——
See More
Back to top