Five Capital Cities of Liao
September 6, 2018 - December 9, 2018 Time: 9:00—17:00 (closed on Mondays) Venue: Room B, Floor 1

Part III. Parallel Northern and Southern Administrations

Since the reign of Emperor Taizu of Liao, Yelü Abaoji, the Khitan people had encroached upon the Central Plain. Emperor Taizong of Liao, Yelü Deguang, gained the Sixteen Prefectures by supporting Shi Jingtang in overthrowing Later Tang and founding Later Jin during the internal political strife of Later Tang. Learning from the Tang dynasty, Liao emperors divided the newly obtained lands and peoples into two regions and employed parallel northern and southern administrations to govern the multi-ethnic state. The flexible governance facilitated the harmony of the peoples in the regions as well as national amalgamation.

<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  >  

Exhibition Items

Other Exhibitions